Bulldog Maroon & White

a Mississippi State sports blog

Welcome to Bulldog Maroon & White

Posted by Kyle Weidie on February 9, 2008

So here I am, covering Mississippi State basketball for MVN….blog style. Ideally, I would not have started this right in the middle of the conference portion of the schedule….but it’s better late than never.

Quickly about me: I’m a 2003 graduate of Mississippi State. During my 5 years there, I was a manager for the men’s basketball team. Currently, I reside in Washington, DC, my hometown. But I still love to follow my Bulldogs, and between ESPN360, Live Game Audio with Dr. Jack Cristil, and the vast information available on the world wide web, I think I’ve got a grip on team coverage.

What you will find here is an honest analysis of the team. The writing will not necessarily be “mass media” style, rather it will be in a conversational tone. My goal is to cover all aspects of Mississippi State basketball, including the past, present, and future. Hopefully, you will enjoy.

But enough of all that, on to the here and now. Mississippi State is playing the first game of the 2nd half of their SEC slate tonight. As it stands, they are 15-7 with a 6-2 conference record and an RPI of 54.

Tonight’s foe: The Auburn Tigers in Auburn, Alabama. Auburn is 12-9 on the season with a 2-6 conference record, RPI of 166.

A quick link:
A Clarion-Ledger Feature on Elgin Bailey
Bailey realizes that playing time cures homesickness. Seems like someone needs to help freshmen realize the meaning of patience. I did like Elgin’s hustle in the Tennessee game, let’s hope he continues to improve.

A link you’ll need to know:
Kyle Veazey’s Mississippi State blog on the Clarion-Ledger website.

Well, that’s it for now. I’m off to watch the Bulldogs take on the Tigers on ESPN360. Look for an analysis of the game in my next post.

2 Responses to “Welcome to Bulldog Maroon & White”

  1. Jon said

    Welcome to MVN! Go Bulldogs!

  2. Adam aka Old Man Stubborn said

    Man if you want to get started writing for some money, just let me know and I’ll be your Jerry Maguire.

Leave a Reply

 
